Light, Love & Life

Healthy recipes to make you feel good, love yourself and your life

Egg Whites with Spinach and Avocado

Leave a comment

This is my go-to breakfast because it’s quick and easy to make in the morning.  I used to put cheese in my eggs, but the creaminess of the avocado is a great substitute for cheese–and it’s healthier!

When I plan on making this dish multiple times a week, I will add onions, green peppers and mushrooms as well.  I also prep for this at the beginning of the week by chopping the onions, green peppers and mushrooms and putting them in separate glass Tupperware containers.  When it’s time to cook in the morning, I just grab the Tupperware and use as much as I want.  Feel free to add whatever veggies you want!

Servings:  1
Active Time:  10 minutes
Cook Time:  5 minutes

Ingredients

EggWhitesSpinachAvocado2 egg whites
1 teaspoon skim milk
1/2 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 avocado, chopped
1 cup spinach, shredded (I stack my spinach then rip it into small pieces)

Feel free to also add:
2 tablespoons mushrooms, chopped
1 tablespoon green peppers, chopped
1 tablespoon onion, chopped
Whatever else you want!

Directions

  1. In a bowl, whisk together egg whites and skim milk.  Set aside.
  2. In small skillet, heat olive oil then add spinach (and any other veggies) and saute.
  3. When veggies are just about finished sauteing, add avocado to warm up it up just a touch.
  4. Add egg white mixture.  If you can make an omelette, cook eggs and fold into an omelette.  If you’re like me, scramble eggs until cooked.

How It Should Look

Nutrition Info

Per serving:  181 calories; Fat 12 g (Saturated 2 g); Cholesterol 1 mg; Carbohydrates 9 g; Protein 10 g; Fiber 6 g.

Printable Recipes

Egg Whites with Spinach and Avocado (1 serving)

Egg Whites with Spinach and Avocado (2 servings)

Egg Whites with Spinach and Avocado (4 servings)

Leave a comment